skip to Main Content
Our Structure

The General Assembly

The General Assembly of the CBU is the supreme body. It is the General Assembly which has all the power necessary to achieve the objectives of the Union. It is the Assembly which admits new members and fixes subscriptions, approves the accounts, the budget and the Union’s programme of activity.

The Board

The General Assembly elects a Board which is headed by the President to be responsible for the affairs of the Union, between Assemblies. The nine-member board is comprised of a President,Vice-President and seven (7) Directors.

The Secretariat

The CBU was originally based at the CARICOM Secretariat in Guyana and had only part time administration, in the early years.

In 1981 in Jamaica, the General Assembly, in the interest of the broadcasting systems and the people they serve, determined that the Union needed to establish a permanent Secretariat with a full time Secretary General. Barbados offered, and was selected to be the Headquarters. The first Secretary General was Mr. Jones P. Madeira. The current Secretary General is Ms. Sonia Gill, who became the first woman in the post in 2014.

The CBU Secretariat is currently located at the Caribbean Media Centre, in the Harbour Industrial Estate in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Back To Top