skip to Main Content
CBU News

Nominations are open for IWMF Courage In Journalism Awards

Nominations are open for all three of the International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF)’s annual awards: the Courage in Journalism Awards, the Gwen Ifill Award and the Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award.

Learn more about the awards and nomination requirements below, then visit to nominate and apply. Applications for all awards close March 3!

Courage in Journalism Awards

The Courage in Journalism Awards honor brave women and nonbinary journalists who report on taboo topics, work in environments hostile to women, and share difficult truths. Nominations are open to journalists from all countries who have faced significant risk while reporting.

One of our annual Courage Awards is reserved for a journalist currently imprisoned or detained in relation to their work. Learn more about the Wallis Annenberg Justice for Women Journalists Award here.

Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award recognizes a photojournalist whose work inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world.

Self-nomination is strongly encouraged! This award is not exclusive to conflict photography – photojournalists who produce exceptional work revealing humanity amid hostility across all beats are encouraged to apply.

This award includes a $20,000 USD cash prize generously endowed by the Howard G. Buffett Foundation.

Gwen Ifill Award

The IWMF’s annual Gwen Ifill Award recognizes a woman or nonbinary journalist of color for their outstanding achievement in journalism and commitment to mentorship, leadership, and advancing diversity in journalism.

Self-nominations and third-party nominations are accepted! Candidates must be U.S.-based women or nonbinary journalists of color.

Back To Top