Launch of 2018 CBU Caribbean Media Awards

Dec 14, 2018 | News Releases


The Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU) is broadening the appeal of its annual Awards competition by opening up additional categories to print and digital entries, along with the traditional radio and television material.  As a result, the competition has been re-titled the CBU Caribbean Media Awards (CMA).

This enhancement is in line with the expansion of the CBU’s membership categories to include print and digital media as full members.  The first print organisation to join the CBU was the Jamaica Gleaner, the print counterpart to the RJR Communications Group, a founding CBU member.


The CBU is also highlighting that a number of categories are open to non-members, including advertising agencies, once the material is published by CBU members, during the eligibility period.  The next round of awards will be presented to winning entries broadcast or published between January 1 and December 31, 2018.

The upcoming renewal will include special theme categories supported by partners such as UNICEF, and Island Media, sponsors of the Golden Conch Shell Award.

And to give entrants greater insight into the competition, the CBU will host live webinars to give submitting organisation tips on what makes for a winning entry in the relevant theme category.

The first series of webinars will be hosted by Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition (CVC) focussing on the category – Coverage of HIV-AIDS.

Interested members are invited to contact the Secretariat at to arrange for a personalized video-conference for the individual member organization.

The updated entry form here.

2018 CMA Entry Form

The updated rules can be reviewed here.

2018 CMA Rules

Download Attachments