Launch of the Application and Selection Process for the New Centres of Excellence (CoEs) network

Jun 20, 2014 | ITU, News

Dear Sir/Madam,

Further to my letter of 18 February 2014 in which I announced the adoption of the Centres of Excellence strategy, I am pleased to note that the World Telecommunication Development Conference (WTDC-14), adopted priority areas for the 2015-2018 cycle. In light of the above, I have pleasure in formally launching the application process by institutions interested in becoming Centres of Excellence for the next four years. The new Centres of Excellence strategy and related documents are available at

As priority areas for the next four years that were recently adopted at WTDC-14 differ from those of previous cycles, and in line with the new strategy document endorsed by the Telecommunication Advisory Group (TDAG) in 2013, both current and new applicants would be considered for eligibility on an equal footing. The deadline for applications is 29 August 2014.

The evaluation of applications will include the Group on Capacity Building Initiatives whose membership is drawn from the regions.

I intend to communicate the outcomes of the selection process by 30 November 2014. Should there be any questions, please contact Mr. Mike Nxele at or by phone: +41 22 730 5983.

I take this opportunity to express my heartfelt thanks to the membership for supporting the work of the Centres of Excellence during the past four years and look forward to continued support in the coming years.

Yours faithfully,

Brahima Sanou

Annex: Priority areas for purposes of the Centres of Excellence selection (2015-2018 Cycle)
cc: Regional Directors


Priority areas for purposes of the Centres of Excellence selection (2015-2018 Cycle)

1. Policy and Regulation;

2. Broadband Access;

3. Cybersecurity;

4. Conformance and Interoperability;

5. Spectrum Management;

6. Digital Broadcasting;

7. ICT Applications and Services;

8. Emergency Telecommunications;

9. ICT and Climate change mitigation and adaptation;

10. e-Waste;

11. Capacity building in Internet Governance.